Accessability Links
Cookies on our website
By continuing to use this website we will assume you are happy to receive cookies as outlined in our cookie policy
Accept Policy

Nominations for the QEPrize 2017 are open!

21 Apr 16  | Engineering
Nominations for the 2017 QEPrize are now open! 

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering (QEPrize) was launched in November 2011, with the first prize presented in 2013, by a cross-party initiative involving UK Prime Minister David Cameron, Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg and Leader of the Opposition Ed Miliband. It is a global engineering prize which rewards and celebrates the engineers responsible for ground-breaking innovations in engineering that have been of global benefit to humanity. 

The award is given once every two years in the name of HM Queen Elizabeth II, and carries with it a prize of £1 million. The inaugural prize in 2013 was awarded to a team of five engineers who together created the Internet and World Wide Web. Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf and Louis Pouzin were recognised for their contributions to the protocols that comprise the fundamental architecture of the Internet. Tim Berners-Lee received the award for the creation of the World Wide Web, and Marc Andreessen for his work building the Mosaic web browser. Marc Andreessen and his wife, Laura Arrillaga-Andreessen, in 2014 donated $500,000 to three non-profits working to bring greater diversity to the high-tech industry.

Dr Robert Langer received the QEPrize in 2015 ‘for his revolutionary advances and leadership in engineering at the interface [of] chemistry and medicine’. Dr Langer was the first to engineer polymers to protect large molecular weight drugs from degradation, and since winning the prize has been working on developing a new form of microchip implant for long-term controlled drug release. His work has already benefited millions worldwide, and promises to benefit millions more. 

Nominees are judged on the following categories:
  • What is it that this person has done (or up to five people have done) that is a ground-breaking innovation in engineering?
  • In what was has this innovation been of global benefit to humanity?
  • Is there anyone else who might claim to have had a pivotal role in this development?
Judging panels for the award have, in the past, included Professor Brian Cox (expert in particle physics and professor at the University of Manchester), Professor John Hennessy (President of Stanford University, electrical engineer and computer scientist), Professor Viola Vogel (currently heading up the Laboratory of Applied Mechanobiology in the Department of Health Sciences and Technology at the ETH, Zurich) and Professor Choon Fong Shih, University Professor at the National University of Singapore), among others.

Know a fantastic engineer who needs recognition? To submit your nomination for the 2017 QEPrize, click here.

Looking for a new job in engineering? Check out our available jobs, send your CVto or give us a call on +44(0)1737822000 for a confidential chat about your future!
Add new comment

Registered office: King's Mill Lane, Redhill, Surrey RH1 5NB. Registered in England No. 1654251.